Robert Wilson obtained a Bachelor and Masters of Science degree in Engineering Physics from the University of California at Los Angeles and a PhD in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Washington. He completed a dissertation in Critical Mass Physics at the Plutonium Critical Mass Laboratory in Richland, Washington and post-doctoral work in safety analysis for the FFTF Reactor. Following academia, he assumed responsibility for the Criticality Safety Program at the Idaho Chemical Processing Plant (ICPP). While at the ICPP he managed the safety response to a criticality accident in 1978 and managed the rebuilding of the criticality safety program. Following ICPP, he worked as the senior criticality safety specialist for the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. In 1995, he assumed responsibility for the criticality safety program at the Rocky Flats Environmental Technology Site and instituted the program manual, the Criticality Safety Officer Program and safety analysis methods. He is currently the Criticality Safety Program Manager for the DOE Office of Environmental Management. He will retire in early 2024.

He was appointed a Westinghouse Advisory Scientist in 1987, a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society in 1994, and earned a Meritorious Service Award for Engineering Excellence from the NRC in 1992. He has served as a member of the Argonne National Laboratory Nuclear Facility Safety Committee, the DOE Nuclear Criticality Technology and Safety Panel (1989 - 1993), and the DOE Criticality Safety Support Group (1997 - present). He has been the General Chairman and Program Chairman for ANS topical meetings in criticality safety. He has twice served as vice chair and chair of the ANS Nuclear Criticality Safety Division. He has served as an Affiliate Professor of Nuclear Engineering for the University of Idaho and lectures at Criticality Safety Short Courses for the University of New Mexico and the DOE Nuclear Criticality Safety Program. He is a member of several ANSI writing groups for criticality safety related standards and is a member of the Nuclear Criticality Safety Consensus Committee for the American National Standards Institute.