Nuclear Data Advisory Group

About the Nuclear Data Advisory Group

The Nuclear Data Advisory Group (NDAG) gathers and evaluates differential and integral nuclear data, identifies deficiencies, and recommends priorities on meeting DOE criticality safety needs to the Criticality Safety Support Group (CSSG) and NCSP Manager. Then the NDAG identifies the required resources and unique capabilities for meeting these needs, not only for performing measurements but also for data evaluation with nuclear model codes as well as for data processing for criticality safety applications.

The NDAG coordinates this effort with the leadership of the National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC), the Cross Section Evaluation Working Group (CSEWG), and the Working Party on International Evaluation Cooperation (WPEC) of the OECD/NEA Nuclear Science Committee. The overall objective is to expedite the issuance of new data and methods to the DOE criticality safety user. The document below describes these activities in detail, with examples based upon special studies being performed in support of criticality safety for a variety of DOE operations.

The NDAG conducts in work in accordance with a Charter, Work Instructions, and Membership Policy as approved by the NCSP Manager.

NDAG Members

The NDAG members consist of a Chair with members representing several important areas of expertise, experience and responsibility:

  • Nuclear data specialists including experimentalists, evaluators and data processors
  • Criticality safety experts from the major DOE sites
  • Program management and technical leadership from NCSP elements including nuclear data, critical experiments, benchmarking, and analytical methods

Member List

Michael Zerkle (Chair)
Michael.Zerkle@unnpp.gov
Bret Beck
LLNL, beck6@llnl.gov
John D. Bess
INL, john.bess@inl.gov
David A. Brown
BNL, dbrown@bnl.gov
Yaron Danon
RPI, danony@rpi.edu
Michael Dunn
medunn222@yahoo.com
Klaus H. Guber
ORNL, guberkh@ornl.gov
Gary Harms
SNL, gaharms@sandia.gov
David K. Hayes
LANL, dkhayes@lanl.gov
David P. Heinrichs
LLNL, heinrichs1@llnl.gov
Michal W. Herman
BNL, mwherman@bnl.gov
Toshihiko Kawano
LANL, kawano@lanl.gov
Luiz Leal
IRSN, luiz.leal@irsn.fr
Robert C. Little
LANL, rcl@lanl.gov
Fredrik K. Tovesson
LANL, tovesson@lanl.gov
Tim Trumbull
KAPL, timothy.trumbull@unnpp.gov
Morgan Curtis White
LANL, morgan@lanl.gov
Mark L. Williams
ORNL, williamsm@ornl.gov

Ex-officio Members

Angela S. Chambers
DOE, angela.chambers@nnsa.doe.gov
Jerry N. McKamy
DNFSB, JerryM@dnfsb.gov