Criticality Safety Support Group

About the Criticality Safety Support Group

The Criticality Safety Support Group (CSSG) was formed in response to Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) Recommendation 97-2, Criticality Safety. The CSSG functions as the technical support group to the Nuclear Criticality Safety Program (NCSP) Manager, providing operational and technical expertise pertinent to the criticality safety needs of DOE missions. This expertise is relevant to integral experiments, nuclear data, methods, training, and organizational structures supporting the development and execution of the NCSP. Additionally, the scope of CSSG activities also includes reviewing:

  • Activities or conditions that have the potential for serious degradation of nuclear criticality safety at DOE facilities
  • New nuclear facility designs where criticality is a credible hazard
  • New or revised DOE directives, standards and guides related to criticality safety
  • Contractor nuclear criticality safety programs at DOE facilities in support of DOE line management

Find out moreThe CSSG conducts its work in accordance with a Charter, Work Instructions, and Membership Policy as approved by the NCSP Manager.

CSSG Members

The CSSG consists of 10 current members including the Chair and Deputy Chair. The members are selected from DOE and its Contractors to provide a collective knowledge spanning the broad spectrum of nuclear criticality safety technology and safety areas. The 10 current members are the only voting members of the CSSG. Emeritus status is comprised of formerly Current members. Ex-officio members are appointed to provide expertise in a specific area of criticality safety. All members are appointed by, and serve with the approval of the NCSP Manager.

Name/DOE Site Status Email
David Erickson
SRS
Bio
Chair David.Erickson@srs.gov
David Hayes
LANL
Bio
Deputy Chair dkhayes@lanl.gov
James Morman
ANL
Bio
Member jamorman@anl.gov
David Heinrichs
LLNL
Bio
Member heinrichs1@llnl.gov
Jerry E. Hicks
DOE, ret.
Bio
Member jerryhicks@aol.com
Kevin Kimball
Y12
Bio
Member kevin.kimball@cns.doe.gov
Thomas McLaughlin
LANL, ret.
Bio
Member tpm@pobox.com
Robert Wilson
DOE
Bio
Member robert.wilson@emcbc.doe.gov
Michaele C. Brady Raap
PNNL
Bio
Member MikeyBrady@aol.com
E. Fitz Trumble
AECOM
Bio
Member fitz.trumble@aecom.com

Ex-officio Members

Name/DOE Site Status Email
Angela Chambers
DOE
Bio
Ex-officio Angela.Chambers@nnsa.doe.gov
Doug Bowen
ORNL
Ex-officio bowendg@ornl.gov
Gregory Sosson
DOE
Ex-officio Gregory.Sosson@em.doe.gov

Emeritus Members

Name/DOE Site Status Email
Richard Anderson
LANL
Bio
Emeritus REAnderson@lanl.gov
Calvin Hopper
ORNL
Bio
Career Award
Emeritus hoppercm@comcast.net
Jerry McKamy
DNFSB
Bio
Emeritus JerryM@dnfsb.gov
Thomas Reilly
WSMS, Ret.
Career Award
Emeritus mimtar@aol.com
R. Michael Westfall
ORNL
Bio
Career Award
Emeritus WestfallRM@ornl.gov

Past Members

Name/DOE Site Status
Adolf Garcia
DOE
Career Award
Rest in Peace
Davis Reed
ORNL
Bio
Retired, inactive
Hans Toffer
Fluor Gov't Group, Ret.
Bio
Career Award
Rest in Peace