Criticality Safety Support Group

About the Criticality Safety Support Group

The Criticality Safety Support Group (CSSG) was formed in response to Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) Recommendation 97-2, Criticality Safety. The CSSG functions as the technical support group to the Nuclear Criticality Safety Program (NCSP) Manager, providing operational and technical expertise pertinent to the criticality safety needs of DOE missions. This expertise is relevant to integral experiments, nuclear data, methods, training, and organizational structures supporting the development and execution of the NCSP. Additionally, the scope of CSSG activities also includes reviewing:

  • Activities or conditions that have the potential for serious degradation of nuclear criticality safety at DOE facilities
  • New nuclear facility designs where criticality is a credible hazard
  • New or revised DOE directives, standards and guides related to criticality safety
  • Contractor nuclear criticality safety programs at DOE facilities in support of DOE line management

Find out moreThe CSSG conducts its work in accordance with a Charter, Work Instructions, and Membership Policy as approved by the NCSP Manager.

 

CSSG Members

The CSSG consists of 11 current members including the Chair and Deputy Chair. The members are selected from DOE and its Contractors to provide a collective knowledge spanning the broad spectrum of nuclear criticality safety technology and safety areas. The 11 current members are the only voting members of the CSSG. Emeritus status is comprised of formerly Current members. Ex-officio members are appointed to provide expertise in a specific area of criticality safety. All members are appointed by, and serve with the approval of the NCSP Manager.

 

Photo David Erickson David Erickson | Bio
Chair
SRS
David.Erickson@srs.gov
Photo David Hayes David Hayes | Bio
Deputy Chair
LANL
dkhayes@lanl.gov
Photo David Heinrichs David Heinrichs | Bio
LLNL
heinrichs1@llnl.gov
Photo Jerry Hicks Jerry E. Hicks | Bio
DOE, retired
jerryhicks@aol.com
Photo Kevin Kimball Kevin Kimball | Bio
Y12, retired
kimballkd@ornl.gov
Photo Thomas McLaughlin Thomas McLaughlin | Bio
LANL, retired
tpm@pobox.com
Photo James Morman James Morman | Bio
ANL
jamorman@anl.gov
Photo Michaele Brady Raap Michaele C. Brady Raap | Bio
PNNL, retired
MikeyBrady@aol.com
Photo Kevin Reynolds Kevin Reynolds | Bio
Y-12 National Security Complex
Kevin.Reynolds@cns.doe.gov
Photo E. Fitz Trumble E. Fitz Trumble | Bio
Amentum
fitz.trumble@amentum.com
Photo Robert Wilson Robert Wilson | Bio
DOE
robert.wilson@emcbc.doe.gov

 

Ex-officio Members

Photo Angela Chambers Angela Chambers | Bio
DOE
Angela.Chambers@nnsa.doe.gov
Photo Doug Bowen Doug Bowen | Bio
ORNL
bowendg@ornl.gov
Photo Michael Zerkle Michael Zerkle | Bio
NNL
Michael.Zerkle@unnpp.gov

 

Emeritus Members

Photo Richard Anderson Richard Anderson | Bio
LANL
REAnderson@lanl.gov
Photo Calvin Hopper Calvin Hopper | Bio
ORNL, retired | Career Award
hoppercm@comcast.net
Photo Jerry McKamy Jerry McKamy | Bio
NNSA, retired
mckamyjn@ornl.gov
Photo Thomas Reilly Thomas Reilly
WSMS, retired | Career Award
mimtar@aol.com
Photo R. Michael Westfall R. Michael Westfall | Bio
ORNL, retired | Career Award
WestfallRM@ornl.gov

 

Past Members

Photo Adolf Garcia Adolf Garcia
DOE
Rest in Peace | Career Award
Photo Davis Reed Davis Reed | Bio
ORNL
Retired, inactive
Photo Hans Toffer Hans Toffer | Bio
Fluor Gov't Group, retired
Rest in Peace | Career Award